WEEK COLLECTION 08

At the end of the years websites and blogs will be filled with 2016 lists. For me 2016 was a mixed bag. I changed job, my son spent months in a rehabilitation hospital, my daughter went to high school. My wife struggled with her health. Her mother tried to beat her cancer. Somewhere in between I tried to keep photographing. Thankfully I feel surrounded by beautiful and warm people.

Politically it was, well meh. The States elected a new POTUS, good luck with that. We’ve seen horrifying scenes in Syria, terror attacks in Europe and the Middle East. 2017 might be even worse with elections throughout Europe, including my homecountry the Netherlands. I hold my breath and can only think of the wise words by human rights activist Iyad el-Baghdadi: “Remember and believe that hate cannot melt hate, only reinforce it. Only love can melt hate. Make it a cornerstone of your belief.”

Blessed Hanukkah, Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays.

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset

Processed with VSCO with acg preset

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset

All photographs by Wouter Brandsma

