Week 59 | 2015

PAD photography, photo a day, stroll photography, Wouter Brandsma, Ricoh GR

Day 407 – September 20, 2015

PAD photography, photo a day, stroll photography, Wouter Brandsma, Ricoh GR

Day 408 – September 21, 2015

PAD photography, photo a day, stroll photography, Wouter Brandsma, Ricoh GR

Day 409 – September 22, 2015

PAD photography, photo a day, stroll photography, Wouter Brandsma, Ricoh GR

Day 410 – September 23, 2015

PAD photography, photo a day, stroll photography, Wouter Brandsma, Ricoh GR

Day 411 – September 24, 2015

PAD photography, photo a day, stroll photography, Wouter Brandsma, Ricoh GR

Day 412 – September 25, 2015

PAD photography, photo a day, stroll photography, Wouter Brandsma, Fuji X100

Day 413 – September 26, 2015

I’ve stayed away from commentary on my photography and pretty much else since a long while. And that comes with a reason. I really felt no desire to write about photography. I kind of didn’t want to remind myself that there is something like photography, even though I’ve been photographing everyday.

I want to make photographs without feeling myself, and looking like, that guy with a camera. I want to make photographs without caring about the craftsmanship, the technique, and technology. I’ve seen it, done that, bin there before. I just want to do what I like to do, taking photographs. Sort of P-mode and just observing, undergoing, and feeling.

And you know? I’ve done that for 59 weeks, in color. I’ve been asked to write about photographing everyday, this project sort of thing, but I’ve no clue where to start, or how to finish it. I don’t know what is really interesting about that. There are so much more important things to be engaged with, I think. The world around us changes so rapidly. Care about that, and what you love, without being feared.

I still get questions what camera I use and how I process my photographs, but a lot less than a couple of years ago. Since I stopped writing about gear and photography I saw the changes in the behavior how much my blog got visited and how it got visited. Fact is, most really only care about the technology, like gear and post processing. the subscription base increased drastically though, so I think people consume posted stuff differently nowadays, which is perfectly fine with me. I don’t try to monetize anyway, I just share my passion for photography with you. And I hope you don’t mind that?

I feel a strong urge though to mix up things. Color was interesting to do, but so often I wanted to go for B&W instead which I decided for the sake of consistency. What is consistency though? So while I will try to keep photographing everyday you’ll likely be seeing B&W too, or at least I guess so.

And then, on the last day of week 59 I got struck by severe back pain. It was incredibly difficult and hard to make any decent photograph during day. I was unpleased and got out again for a small stroll late at night. The pain got even worse and I was struggling to steady the camera.

As a result I decided to stop the project in it’s current form. This feels very difficult to me, but I need to focus on my back. I will try to continue my project in some form and try to photograph on a weekly basis. There is a likely change though that I will come up with less weekly photographs. So it becomes a sort of photo a “when ever possible” day project. Or at least I hope so.

All photographs by Wouter Brandsma