The Obvious

I’m now half way week 9 of my photo a day project and didn’t write anything on my blog since August 12. That sure is a long time for me on my blog. Then I also decided to close the comment section for my weekly postings, because I wanted these posts to fully focus on the photographs. No distractions, just photographs. Still thank you to those who mailed me. Very much appreciated.

Exhibition-01

Exhibition-02

Exhibition-03

Exhibition-04

Exhibition-05

Exhibition-06

Just a recap of these months. I wrote in August that I would be dismissed at my work (a lot of colleagues would lose their jobs too). My photo exhibition run for over 3 months. On August 10 I woke and thought about my photo a day project in 2011 (it lasted 72 weeks) and instantly decided to start all over again. And in color, deliberately, cause I done so much in B&W. I wanted it, I needed it. Sold three exhibited photographs. Planned to go to Photokina. Found a new job in September. Did eventually not go to Photokina. Finished week 8 of my photo a day project. And I’m currently enjoying a short break before starting my new job later this month.

Exhibition-07

Exhibition-08

Exhibition-09

Taking the long photographic break earlier this year and working on my exhibition kind of felt like working on finishing a chapter. It was my photo a day project in 2011 – abruptly stopped in 2012 – that made me realize I needed to finish some things, personal and photographic. In that time I published my first photo book Saudade and did my first solo exhibition, “Between light and darkness”. To celebrate the end of this chapter I share with you the photographs I exhibited this summer.

Exhibition-10

Exhibition-11

Exhibition-12

Exhibition-13

Exhibition-14

Exhibition-15

With this new photo a day project it allows me to experiment again. For the first time since going digital in 2004 I feel getting really familiar with color again (I shot mostly slide films in the years before. Fuji Provia and Kodak Ektachrome with my Ricoh GR). I’ll keep photographing the things close at home, strolling the familiar and unfamiliar places, the mundane, the boring, the ugly, the beauty, the obvious. Yeah, the obvious.

Exhibition-16

Exhibition-17

Exhibition-18

Exhibition-19

All photographs by Wouter Brandsma