I have been

stroll photography, Dutch Light, Wouter Brandsma

I have been very distracted by many things recently. When I turned 41 I heard that I will definitely lose my job April 1 next year (no joke). My grandfather passed away and so many other things happened (some small, some huge). In the meantime…..

I have been preparing my first solo exhibition for over two months and it opened on July 11. In the midst of all the turmoil mentioned above. I just didn’t feel like really celebrating this moment.

stroll photography, Dutch Light, Wouter Brandsma

I have been hardly photographing this year. Working on the exhibition somehow really felt like closing a chapter, even if I didn’t want to. Sometimes it feels like everything is done and I don’t have a particular interest in other genres.

I have been thinking lately what I do find interesting in photography. Is it a genre, some subjects, or something else? The last few days storm Bertha hit the Netherlands and treated us with beautiful skies. Sun, clouds, showers, thunderstorms. While overlooking the Gouwzee near Volendam yesterday I saw amazing cloud formations pass by while the strong winds roughened the waters. The light was simply mesmerizing. The Dutch light.

stroll photography, Dutch Light, Wouter Brandsma

I have been photographing the last few days (again). While strolling I wondered what to do, how to see the small and precious things? And today, out of the blue, I decided to photograph everyday again. And to just see where it all goes. Nothing intentionally, I don’t care if it is B&W or color. No series in mind, just like I did a couple of years ago when I photographed for 72 weeks in a row. It might the same like I did before, but that admittedly is just part of me.

Well, for those in my neighborhood. You can visit my exhibition here (Dutch).

stroll photography, Dutch Light, Wouter Brandsma

All photographs by Wouter Brandsma