Saudade

Saudade

Saudade

In August Jamie Pillers suggested in a comment on one of my blog posts to make a Blurb book. Now the idea to make a book is not really new, but he said to just select images that pleases me. Nothing formal or project based.

For a couple years now I have a few numbers of selections for a book resting on my computer waiting to be printed and bond together. But each and everytime I doubted. Was the concept strong enough? Would my purposed intentions meet my expectations? How about the B&W printing? Would it bring color casts? Somehow there was something holding me back from letting go my photographs.

Jamie’s suggestion to basically make a random selection gave me new inspiration and energy. And a fair method to temper my personal expectation too. What kept my mind occupied though was the form. A large book, something for on the coffee table, or something differently? For a first book I didn’t want to pay and charge too much, but a large book with quite a lot of photographs really sets the price.It became even more obvious to me at Photokina where Pentax displayed their photo books. The high quality paper, the size of that book, the dedication of the printers, and the price set me a sight.

It was later in September when I read an article on Daniel Milnor’s Smogranch blog where he talked about the Blurb trade book format. Small, 6×9 inch, easy to take with you, and fair in price. Perfect for me, a small book format that doesn’t raise the bar too high. Together with the help from my German friend Jan Klose, who suggested to make a playful book, I did it.

And so I am proud to say I finished my first photo book, titled ‘Saudade’. Saudade is a Portugese word I learned about when I heard a Fado a couple of years. The nostalgic and longing feeling associated with Saudade sounded perfect to me.

The can be ordered here.

