Traveling and wondering

Recently I saw a blog post by another photographer with some rough sketchy kind of photographs. At first the photographer mentioned that he though they weren’t great, but they kept him going through the day while traveling. For me personally photographs were you briefly catch what you thought interesting and was on your mind helps me visualize my day. It becomes my diary.In the comment section there was one comment that kept me busy the entire week. The one who commented said: “I like that kind of images. I look for such a feeling myself but I’m often struggling to visualize what I really want to communicate“. A long time ago I questioned that myself too. When I saw photographs in photobooks or in magazines I often wondered how some photographers could photograph so loosely, freely, yet so intentionally. I think the lesson I learned was to be curious. We see interesting things daily. It briefly occupies our minds and than we let it go, because we notice something different. It can be the light or an angle that seems unusual. My friend Don always says you are making photographs. Even when you don’t press the shutter you are always to see if it is interesting. If you hesitate making these photographs, just wonder for yourself how it may actually look like on a photograph. Just do it, aim, frame, press the shutter. I make quite a lot of these photographs, but don’t try to rush anymore to edit them. I give them a rest.I learned that it helps me structure my thoughts, doubts, experiences, failures, successes, you name it. It also serves for me as a sketch book to think of even more meaningful projects. I admit though that normally keep geting stucked in these sketch books.

All photographs by Wouter Brandsma