week 11 | 2012

I like photography unexpected and unplanned. I try to photograph free and unrestrained by predefined projects. It is what I prefer to do. The unexpectancy takes me to moments I would otherwise not notice. For instance take the last day of this week. We wanted to photograph in the Dutch harbor city Rotterdam, but due to railway problems we ended up celebrating St. Patrick’s Day in an Irish pub in Amsterdam.

And I know quite some people ask me how I can persist continuing photographing each and every day. Sometimes I really don’t know. At such moments it almost feels like an automated process, but very often I just really enjoy the flow of recognizing something interesting. Most importantly though I feel the end results becomes less relevant. It just really takes me away from some of the daily stress. Just 15 minutes, often even less. And just a moment without worries, a moment to recharge. Every day can be a challenge and I certainly don’t want to turn my passion into a stressful process either.

And on a side note. In between all the gear oriented websites I currently mostly look forward to the weekly Digest updates by LPV Magazine. It is one of the best regular photographic reads in my opinion. It for instance takes you this wonderful and sometimes even hilarious series “Maddie the Coonhound“.

All photographs by Wouter Brandsma

