week 8 | 2012

This week was all about social media. Many photographers tumbled over the pros and cons of social media. With the launch of Pinterest there is another social media service that makes it so easy to share content by others across a huge online crowd. How much social media is needed? Are you feared by ignorance of copyrighted material?

I am on Twitter and Tumblr. And I used to be on Facebook and Flickr, although my photographs on Flickr can still be seen. I felt Facebook was a drag and I was relieved to delete my account earlier this week. I have thought a very long time about my Flickr stream and wanted to stop two years ago until I decided to upload my PAD photographs there too. For a long while Flickr was my only social media presence and that slowly changed in the past five years. My blog sort of replaced Flickr. I used other media sourced too to engage with other photographers. Now I use my blog and Tumblr for sharing my photographs and I use Twitter for general stuff, like politics, and some photography.

I the past I was truly concerned about other people showing my photographs without my approval. Hunting down those who ignore my copyright statement could take a lot of time. In the last two years I stopped worrying about that. In fact, I think that if someone likes a photograph or a blog article they are free to share that with others. I only ask for my credits and a link back. That is all.
It does take away some burden for me and I now only use the tools I “like“.

Last week was hard and the images showed it. I had several mail conversations with some about my regular posting. And about the rehearsal patterns in my photography. It could be a drag, but also signs of life. I mean, I believe life is like a constant déjà vu. And sometimes things happen to trigger a chain of new events. I guess I therefore needed the previous week. When I started this new week I knew instinctively that I wanted to use color, no B&W. Not necessarily because it echoes my current feelings, but more to evoke them. Therefore I will try to do color photography for a while.

All photographs by Wouter Brandsma

