week 50 | 2011

Photographically speaking this must be one of my most productive years. I took approximately 10,000 photographs, which is a lot for me. Normally I get to something like 5,000 to 6,000 photographs, realizing that almost half of the photographs I took are the result of my daily photography. These additional photographs feel a lot more personal. With a particular project in mind you set requirements and expectations. With a lengthy project like this one, without any striking event, you simply can not avoid becoming the prime subject. That feels odd, but for me it was very meaningful. It is a lot about capturing mood.

It made me feel vulnerable too at times. I often had doubts. Doubts about the quality of my imagery, doubts of my intentions, doubts on whether I should continue. Sometimes I do really miss taking landscape photographs, just simply enjoying the pure essence of how light can transform something we generally consider beautiful. But then I do also feel that a lot of people already taking extraordinary photographs we feel are beautiful. And I realize that photography can be too about the ordinary, the simplicity, but also the complexity. That photography doesn’t need to be beautiful or exceptionally interesting. No, what for me really matters is that it is close to me.

I know this year only has two weeks left. And I could finish it and consider the project done. But to me, it feels like the start. I intent to keep this project going and do my regular weekly posting with everyday photographs.

Update December 19, 2011
I have been way to positive in my calculation of number of photographs I took. When I checked the number of photographs I totally forgot that I have set my Ricoh GRD and Panasonic GF1 to take both jpegs and raws. Totally stupid of course by me, but that means my total of exposures is slightly above 5,000 instead 10,000. And that number is comparable with what I normally shoot too annually.

The photographs of this ongoing project will also be updated here.

All photographs by Wouter Brandsma