week 47 | 2011


When things get dark, everything we generally know and consider pretty much normal can become very odd. It can give such an eerie feeling which I do find quite fascinating. Sort of an alienating feeling, I presume.

In these dark days I always start to wonder how the next year will be.

The photographs do echo my feelings right now. Not depressing, but somehow full of uncertainties.

And sure, economically speaking things don’t look that great here in Europe (even not in the Netherlands). But I do know a lot of places have seen so much worse.

It means adapting to the new situation and not knowing where it ends. Although my feeling says it won’t be pretty.

Live by the day instead and focus on my family.

The photographs of this ongoing project will also be updated here.

All photographs by Wouter Brandsma

