week 45 | 2011


It was a week of being on the move, constantly on the move. Thankfully I finished my writing about the Pentax Q.

It was no way easy to find some time for photography. Exception was the Wednesday night when we visited a photography studio in my hometown. A small tour, some background from the photographer Fred van de Heetkamp, and the chance to photograph with a couple of models in the studio with different lightning. It was kind of awkward though to shoot models you don’t know in a location with many photographers.

It was the kind of week that happened in a flash. As soon as I realized I was halfway week 45 had ended.

It got me thinking about a way to freeze a moment in time.

Yeah, of course photography is all about that. But with hardly any time and light available I looked for different options.

Just to figure out for me if it really works I started using the small flash on my Ricoh GRDIII at night. To see if the flash can at some depth in my compositions, but also to make you look at things differently.

The photographs of this ongoing project will also be updated here.

All photographs by Wouter Brandsma

