week 40 | 2011


As promised all of the photographs these weeks are/will be taken with the Pentax Q. I currently received the Q with the 47mm f/1.9 lens and it is incredibly small. I can imagine it being too small for most western hands. I attached the 34mm Olympus optical viewfinder since it is the closest viewfinder I have to the 47mm focal length. And it is not really a problem since I find the Olympus viewfinder to be closer to 40mm.

I know a lot of people are strongly opinionated about small sensors. And many even think that the new breed of 1/2.3″ sensors are even more mediocre than the 1/1.7″ sensors like you see in the Ricoh GRD3 or the Olympus XZ1. Well, I tell you that this sensor and the image processing engine of the Pentax Q are actually very good. The jpegs are really good and it holds colors so much better at higher ISO rates.

Now, I won’t spill the beans yet. First more photographs need to be taken, more things to encounter, and to learn. In the meantime you can check Steve Huff’s review if you want to learn more about the Pentax Q. I hope to finish my impression article early November. I will never call it a review. There is nothing scientific in it. It is all about how I think a camera suites my photography.

What I do think though is that the Q with the 47mm is a great combination for close up portraits. And you don’t need that bokeh setting to get shallow depth of field with this lens.

And because it is still a small camera you use it freely which is great for unusual perspectives.

And interestingly, yesterday I visited an autism congress and learned that young siblings look at totally different things depending on their gender. Little baby girls look at faces, while boys look at light and shadows.

The photographs of this ongoing project will also be updated here.

All photographs by Wouter Brandsma