week 34 | 2011

With my previous post I didn’t meant to attack street photography. I love street photography. I love seeing it in publications, I love practicing it. It is just that geographically I don’t live near a larger city and people in my own hometown seem to live a more fearsome life (probably the result of living in the center of the Dutch bible belt).

I have seen questions popping up on the web whether street photography was a fad or here to stay. Well street photography is not really new. It has been practiced and perfected by some great photographers in the past and will continue to be pushed in the future too. But unlike many other genres I don’t think street photography is there to become utterly popular. The greater purpose of street photography in my opinion is capturing the human conditions in it’s current time space, and not there to become the most respected photographer out there. It doesn’t mean that you can’t be respected, but will likely be respected for the work you have created. So I absolutely don’t think street photography is a fad. It will likely either be more or less popular from time to time. It is hardly the “industry” around street photography that is maybe a fad. Not really bad either, you know. It finally gets some recognition again from galleries and museums. But everything else will certainly come and go.

In the meantime, while the first rumors of a new Ricoh GR Digital 4 started to appear last week, I got my GRD3 back from service and have been enjoying it a lot this week.

The photographs of this ongoing project will also be updated here.

All photographs by Wouter Brandsma

