week 31 | 2011


A photograph always remains a photograph no matter what camera, film or digital, was used. And although for some film might be more emotional (or perhaps should say more nostalgic) it is the emotion you convey with the context, form, and light that makes a photograph emotional in my opinion. Now everything has its pros and cons. And many decisions we make depend on a balance between emotional and rational values that makes something practical for us. And how wonderful is it that these values are not all fixated. They are very personal and depend on so many things that makes the decision making also very difficult. Because what is practical for me will likely not be practical for another.


With more money and time film could well be more practical for me, but that sure isn’t the case. Therefore digital photography is very practical for me. I can still shoot the amount of photographs I have always wanted to. And yes, I love the look and feel of B&W film or color slides that I have used in the past, but digital B&W is now very convenient for me too. It is right now color that is giving me headaches. Seeing color is one thing, but getting the colors I want is something totally different. For me B&W is all about previsualization and I know I will get the photographs I want from the exposures I get. Learning how colors do interact in a composition and how context, exposure, and post processing leads to an end result is what I find pretty difficult. And therefore I currently find digital color photography a lot less practical. It is just not the same like using slide film for instance.


But since it is currently not the most obvious thing to do, since I feel so comfortable with B&W, that working on color is exactly what I want to do. Very often practicality and rationality can win it from emotions, but with colors I do feel the wish to (re-)learn it again is much stronger now.

To find additional inspiration I bought three now books from three photographers I greatly admirer, including Alex Webb: The Suffering of Light.

The photographs of this ongoing project will also be updated here.

All photographs by Wouter Brandsma