week 22 | 2011

My dear reader Roni kept me captivated with his phrase ‘The Snapshot Antidote ‘. Because when is something a snapshot and when is a photograph beyond a snapshot? And is snapshot a lesser form of photography or the unsung hero? I tend to believe that my Photography a Day project is a more conscious form of snapshot photography. And after 22 weeks I can already see a sort of personal diary, because instead of shooting beautiful things I focused on the things precious to me. I become more and more a believer that some of the best photographic projects to cover can be the people or things close to you.

Accomplished photographer Chase Jarvis initiated a new project this month with his ‘Dasein – An Invitation to Hang‘. A homage to snapshot photography, the essence of ‘being there‘.

The photographs of this ongoing project will also be updated here.

All photographs by Wouter Brandsma