week 4 | 2011

I can’t believe it, but I practically finished my first month of taking photographs on a daily bases. I still can’t believe it, because I thought it was often very hard to take anything note worthing. Extra time at work, the rain, and the darkness are not a photographer’s best friend.

I took this portrait of my wife last Sunday. The 50mm lens for the Ricoh GXR seems like a great lens for portraits. It has good sharpness, fine texture, and pleasing bokeh. The autofocus remains problematic for me. Whether in good or low light, you still need people with patience.

One of my colleagues finished work on Monday.

My dog wasn’t really helpful as a model on Tuesday. His head was moving all over the place and it was simply not possible to get good focus with the AF or MF. Focused on his feet instead.

In a few weeks I will give a presentation of my photography at the local photography club. Sorting through my slides and films.

I used the GXR and the 50mm macro lens to take photographs of some of my slides and films on Thursday. These images will be beamed. Eleven years ago I used a Ricoh GR1 and Kodak Tri-X to take this scene in Bergen, Norway.

Friday, my tired daughter shortly before going to sleep.

Yesterday was cold, but sunny. And I was able to take this silhouette of my son.

The photographs of this ongoing project will also be updated here.

All photographs by Wouter Brandsma

