Learning to fly

For me photography is all about seeing, learning, understanding, choosing, but most importantly about feeling. We often want to see to understand, instead of trying to understand what we see. Of course it is fantastic to be imaginative, but isn’t it even greater to leave some of that imagination to the viewer?

Last night at the photography club I was reminded of my friend’s words to be more loose in my photography and not to confirm myself. Basically frame purposely and than almost intentionally give the camera a twist to the left or the right. I showed some of my photographs and the external speaker congratulated me on my style. It was a boost for my current state of photographic uncertainty and helped me to see everything much brighter again.
Forest dreaming Connection
The club gathering was very interesting. From the member’s work 10 photographs were selected to participate in a national photography competition. Two photographs which I submitted were selected too, but since I just joined the club the national photography association wasn’t able to speed up my membership. As a result my photographs had to be withdrawn today. It was however absolutely no disappointment. The reminding words of last night and the very good atmosphere of the club gave me a very good feeling.

All photographs by Wouter Brandsma

