Without warning


There is so much I want to do. Maybe write about what drives me to photography, talk about compositions, doing another tutorial, and what the heck, even ramble about gear.

I want to have new photographs, but I don’t want to take photographs. I always have a camera with me, “the Best Camera Is The One That’s with You”, but I don’t care.

I suck, I hate it. Full of ideas and no idea how to execute them. Of course I do know how to do it from a technical point, but my mind is not up there.

You know, every ones in a while you realize there is a lack of inspiration. And worst of all, for me it always comes without warning. Or at least, I don’t recognize the symptoms at that moment.

I don’t want to spent anytime behind the computer. I see always the same things and I don’t notice it. It is ordinary and it remains ordinary. No shadows, no light. Photoshop is killing me. I hate RAW, but I do hate jpeg too. When I leave home, it is dark. When I go home, it is dark.

I visit forums, check flickr, visit blogs. And all I see, feels to me like a déjà vu. It is not bad, in fact it is often great work. But I feel no spark within me.

So, I think it is best to take some rest. Not be worried. Visit or mail friends. And…..

Some day it will change and it will often be without warning too. At some point I notice that there is wonderful light and that it draws amazing shadows. I mean I love shadows, I just don’t like total darkness.

All photographs by Wouter Brandsma