A special moment

Leica M8 and 35mm Summilux f/1.4 by Wouter Brandsma
Yesterday I felt honored and privileged to photograph with my friend’s Leica M8 and two gorgeous lenses. Yes, the camera is something totally different then anything I have used for photography. Top finish and wonderful and bright rangefinder with bright frame lines. And I have to say that this is my dream camera. Do you read me John?
Leica M8 and 35mm Summilux f/1.4 by Wouter Brandsma
But the lenses made all the differences. Yesterday I used a nineties 35mm Summilux f/1.4 and a 1975 pre-production 50mm Noctilux f/1.0. Both lenses screamed to be used wide open which I of course did.
Leica M8 and 35mm Summilux f/1.4 by Wouter Brandsma
Shooting wide open at dim light isn’t easy. I know that now all to well with my Canon 10D and legacy lenses. But it helps that the finder is so bright.
Leica M8 and 35mm Summilux f/1.4 by Wouter Brandsma
Kevin is used to waiting and this isn’t the first time his legs are photographed.
Leica M8 and 35mm Summilux f/1.4 by Wouter Brandsma
I tried to focus on the cigarette and admittedly almost succeeded.
Leica M8 and 35mm Summilux f/1.4 by Wouter Brandsma
I think I like the fall and shooting wide open, which is even better with such a gorgeous Summilux.
Leica M8 and 35mm Summilux f/1.4 by Wouter Brandsma
And when we went to the Ginkel Heath, one of the drop zones during the start of Operation Market Garden on September 17, 1944, the light became just perfect. The monument is to commemorate the young men who died there.
Leica M8 and 35mm Summilux f/1.4 by Wouter Brandsma
All shown photographs in this post were taken with the Summilux. In my next post I will also show some photographs taken with the Noctilux.

All photographs by Wouter Brandsma