Be suprised

This is the first series of photographs I post that were taken with the Ricoh GR Digital III, an absolute cult camera from Japan. And unlike my usual stuff I went for color.
Be surpised by Wouter Brandsma
The photographs from the GRDIII certainly handle differently from those from the GX200 and the lens is so much more contrasty and sharper. What I like best so far is the very fast lens with a maximum opening of  f/1.9 and how the body feels in the hand. While the Panasonic LX3 and the Sigma DP1 are slippery in my opinion, does the GRDIII have this wonderful finish as a result of the magnesium body.
Be surpised by Wouter Brandsma
And almost every button can be reassigned. For manual mode I prefer the up-down dial in front of shutter-release button for changing the shutter speed and the adjustment lever on the back for the aperture changes. By default it is the other way around, but the camera allows this to be changed. Very nice!
Be surpised by Wouter Brandsma
Now I can’t compare this camera with any other Ricoh GR Digital. I can only compare it with the original GR1. I picked up the GX100 in 2007, even tough my gut feeling told me to get the GR Digital I. I now realize it was stupid to even consider rational thoughts in my decision making. I really love using the GRDIII, it is a very intriguing and beautiful camera, and I absolutely not look forward to the moment that I have to return the camera.
Be surpised by Wouter Brandsma
All photographs by Wouter Brandsma

And I have another surprise (and it has to do with a manual focusing camera and a totally new one, see page 42).