Sketches

Sketches by Wouter Brandsma
Even though I liked photographing with a larger sensor camera, and eventually hope to have one of those cameras too, for me small sensor cameras do have a strong purpose. For me they are able to create sketchy pictures. Last Saturday I had the opportunity to try the Panasonic LX3. The LX3 is a strong competitor for the Ricoh GX200 I use. The focal lengths are similar and the targeted photographers are the same group too.
Sketches by Wouter Brandsma
Of course every camera has their pros and cons. I for instance like the user interface of the GX200 and the former GX100. Björn Utpott with who I photographed last Saturday had the GX100 for a year, but couldn’t get used to the Ricoh user interface and prefers the jog dial functionality of the LX3. I liked the image quality of the LX3. I think the dynamic B&W film setting is fabulous, but I constantly had to think about the direction I had to move the jog dial.
Sketches by Wouter Brandsma
The camera has a solid feel and is slightly heavier than the GX200. The higher ISO photographs are definitely better than the GX200, but at base ISO it is a very close call. I liked the camera, but I did miss the step zoom option and a possibility to register your prefered settings.
Sketches by Wouter Brandsma

All photographs by Wouter Brandsma