To the beach

Yesterday my wife and I spent some lovely time at the beach of Scheveningen near the city of The Hague. We went to a musical and enjoyed lunch at one of the many beach clubs. Because of the photographic opportunities I took a camera with me. I opted for the the DP1, because of the simplicity and gorgeous image quality.
To the beach by Wouter Brandsma
The diversity of the people is just wonderful. People from all over the world. And another photographer with a Leica M8, zone focusing his camera, was patiently waiting for some street shots, including of us, until I kindly showed him the camera I had with me. He laughed and I told him he was an even more lucky guy than I was.
To the beach by Wouter Brandsma
It stayed dry, but we had somes dramatic skies over the sea.
To the beach by Wouter Brandsma
A cool scene with a seagull on top of the life gaurd post.
To the beach by Wouter Brandsma
These type of beach resorts all seem to be stuffed with shops to buy food or candy, and of course don’t forget the souvenirs. Mr. Candy is no exception.
To the beach by Wouter Brandsma
And since restaurants and food places are all over here at the boulevard, you can find seagulls too. Sea pigeons I like to call them.
To the beach by Wouter Brandsma
I thought this photograph of my wife at beach club Zeezicht came out pretty well with the back lightning.
To the beach by Wouter Brandsma
The “Scheveningse Pier” is the most recognizable landmark here. An incredibly ugly building of concrete and steal at the beach, but great for photography when the sun sets down.
To the beach by Wouter Brandsma
At ebb some seagulls search along a pier for food.
To the beach by Wouter Brandsma
I had to photograph this purse for a my friend Helen from NY.
To the beach by Wouter Brandsma

All photographs by Wouter Brandsma

