Changes

Some might already have noticed a shift in the subjects of my photography. Less landscape, less street, more personal matters. Why, maybe my landscape photographs where an escape for me. In fact, I believe it was an escape. But there is no reason to escape for me. The worries for my son are real and will always be there. Coping with the situation and learning to express myself is maybe more important for me, certainly now.

As a result I am trying new things to process my photographs. Deeper and darker shadows, less tonalities and subtleties. A bit harsher and rougher. For me Lightroom was not really suitable for that job so I returned to Photoshop, my previous workhorse and darkroom.

It all feels like a journey for me and I don’t try to think about where it will lead me in photography. Despite the burden and emotional difficulties I am proud of my kids and wife.
The Burden by Wouter Brandsma
9: 06 AM.
9:06 by Wouter Brandsma
A shadow tries to get out of my frame. And I loved the fact that fellow blogger, Cristian Sorega, was inspired by my shadow photographs.
Out of frame by Wouter Brandsma
My hand tries to capture the light, I try to capture my hand capturing light. A recent photograph from my friend James Tolbert jr inspired me to convert his photo to a B&W version. He posted about it on his blog. Thanks man!
Capture light by Wouter Brandsma
Lindsay, my daughter.
Our little girl by Wouter Brandsma
My family had great fun while my daughter hugged and tickled her bigger brother.
Family fun by Wouter Brandsma
Family fun and our dog claims his attention too.
My family by Wouter Brandsma
All photographs by Wouter Brandsma

