Horizon

Horizon
Horizon
Horizon
All photographs by Wouter Brandsma

Now I love horizons. They add dimension, depth, perspective, and can broaden your view. And speaking of perspective, dimension, depth, and broad view, I noticed a rather funny topic on the dpreview Canon Talk about the just recently posted review on the Canon PowerShot G10. People, who probably spent a lot of money on their new camera, trashed the final ‘Recommended’ conclusion in the review. They complained about the lack of objectivity, but I honestly doubt if there is anything as objectivity.

We have seen it all before with other cameras being reviewed. The Ricoh GX100 got recommened just, and the world tumlbed down for some. But come on! What I like about a camera, might not be your cup of tea. Do you seriously buy a camera only, because someone else, who you don’t know, thinks it is a great camera? Do we sometimes forget that compact cameras have some limitations? I could nitpick about the high ISO performance of my camera, but I knew it when I bought the camera that it wasn’t good at high ISO’s. So should I be bothered when a reviewer complains about the high ISO performance? No, of course not. I didn’t buy my camera for that reason. There is a distinctive line between something we wish for and something that already exists.

I like my camera, and I want to keep it as long as possible. But I like to have more details in my prints, and finer and more subtle tonalities and a broader dynamic range. In that case it makes no sense to buy a small sensor camera, because these cameras unlikely will fulfill this task. That is why I want to broaden my camera horizon. Ideas and suggestions are very much welcome!

All photographs by Wouter Brandsma