Time helps

photography, photograph, stroll photography, black and white, light, shadow, light and shadows, wouter brandsma, honest, desire, ricoh, ricoh gr

I can drive 80 km/h, look down deep, but it helps to take time. Time to breath, to think, to rest, to continue.

photography, photograph, stroll photography, black and white, light, shadow, light and shadows, wouter brandsma, honest, desire, ricoh, ricoh gr

After my previous post I gave it some extra thoughts how I want to proceed with my blog and what I want to do with the older blog posts. It is certainly tempting to host the blog myself outside the wp dot com environment (thanks Jorge for your thoughts on that subject), but I don’t really have the means (especially the finances) to do so. In the last week I also had several discussions with others on how I want to continue with my blog, and what is happening in the blogosphere. Also I had some good exchanges on photography with fellow photographer Josh White.

photography, photograph, stroll photography, black and white, light, shadow, light and shadows, wouter brandsma, honest, desire, ricoh, ricoh gr

I find it interesting that other bloggers try to figure out what to do with their published stuff. Much gets covered by new posts and images, and what we did gets easily forgotten. I think it is not about rewriting our past, I truly think a blog often echoes a personal diary, but more about restructuring it and make it more easily accessible. Even if I would decide to migrate my blog to a self hosted platform, the restructuring would allow to reduce the number of posts and stored photographs.

photography, photograph, stroll photography, black and white, light, shadow, light and shadows, wouter brandsma, honest, desire, ricoh, ricoh gr

The brief moment of reconsideration in the last week also helped me forward in photographing every day again like I did in 2011. While that may seem clueless at first, I found that particular time after all one of the more liberating periods in my photography. Completely unlimited by gear and techniques (sure they are relevant, but became irrelevant through experience and knowledge at some time) only restricted by my personal feelings. I mean, after 72 weeks consecutively photographing I couldn’t remember taking photographs until I reviewed them later on. At that time, last year, it was a shocking experience. The results however have become quite unique documents to me after struggling with that shocking feeling for some time.

photography, photograph, stroll photography, black and white, light, shadow, light and shadows, wouter brandsma, honest, desire, ricoh, ricoh gr

In essence, that is for me my stroll photography. My first photo book, Saudade, was about reliving that. I want to work on a similar book for next year though. Some of my blog posts will turn in one form or another into that new book. I’m pretty excited to work on that and it really fits with how I described my feelings in my previous post.

photography, photograph, stroll photography, black and white, light, shadow, light and shadows, wouter brandsma, honest, desire, ricoh, ricoh gr

Don’t forget your work, let it breave and remember that time helps. Time and looking back, helps appreciating the road forward.

photography, photograph, stroll photography, black and white, light, shadow, light and shadows, wouter brandsma, honest, desire, ricoh, ricoh gr

All photographs by Wouter Brandsma

