Not forgotten

I used to photograph a lot in agricultural areas nearby my hometown. I love the pace their, the scenery, the light. It makes me feel relaxed. The area brings back memories of cycling there with my grandfather when I was young. The area also emphasizes simplicity. There isn’t that much we really need.
cow, light, shadow, fence, green, color, colour,  photography, photograph, agriculture, rural, sky, trees, light and shadows, ricoh gr, gr ricoh, gr, ricoh, pentax, pentax ricoh, pentax gr, ricoh gr digital, ricoh grd, gr digital, wouter brandsma, landscape, landscape photography, stroll photography
In the last few years I started to photograph different subjects – a lot of it with the genre street photography – that I like to call stroll photography. I still like that, just wandering around. I missed going out in the nearby rural country though.
barn, agriculture, rural, color, colour, photography, photograph, landscape photography, stroll photography, trees, meadows, grass, sky, light, shadow, light and shadow, ricoh gr, gr ricoh, ricoh, gr, pentax, pentax ricoh, pentax gr, ricoh gr digital, ricoh grd, wouter brandsma
So last week was such a moment again. Late in the evening, the breeze was getting chilly. The light however was gorgeous. I was almost running out of time. I took my bike, the camera, and a desire to capture some of that light. I had not forgotten it.
grass, breeze, chill, color, colour, stroll photography, light, shadows, light and shadows, ricoh gr, gr ricoh, gr, ricoh, pentax, pentax ricoh, pentax gr, ricoh gr digital, ricoh grd, gr digital, wouter brandsma
In more recent years it would have been obvious to me to go for B&W, but it just felt like I had to go for color photographs this evening. Just like my Panasonic GF1, the Ricoh GR draws differently than my Ricoh GRD3. I almost always go for B&W when I use the GRD3. With the GR it feels not strange to go for color. Like said before, the GR reminds me of my GR1. And in the past I mostly worked with color slide film in the GR1.
cows, light, shadow, green, color, colour,  photography, photograph, agriculture, rural, sky, trees, light and shadows, ricoh gr, gr ricoh, gr, ricoh, pentax, pentax ricoh, pentax gr, ricoh gr digital, ricoh grd, gr digital, wouter brandsma, landscape, landscape photography, stroll photography, meadow, dutch light
When I am here I go for the open spaces, the light and preferably long shadows. To me, those are magical. I guess I am not a typical landscape photographer. I see a scene, I judge what the best position is – I often already know that since I know the area so well – and take a photograph, possibly two. And I move on. I don’t think about conscious framing. From experience I know what to expose for. At these moments I feel no doubt. When I photograph, there is no doubt.
tractor, road, light, shadow, green, color, colour,  photography, photograph, agriculture, rural, sky, trees, light and shadows, ricoh gr, gr ricoh, gr, ricoh, pentax, pentax ricoh, pentax gr, ricoh gr digital, ricoh grd, gr digital, wouter brandsma, landscape, landscape photography, stroll photography
The doubt can set in when I get home, just like the worries you had after an exposed film roll. Did I get the exposure right, was the subject in focus? Will my compositions work? I gave it some days to rest. To work on different things instead. And working with a new camera and familiarizing with it, doesn’t help the process either. Sometimes I wish I could forget this phase.
cyclists, light, shadows, sunset, green, color, colour,  photography, photograph, agriculture, rural, sky, trees, light and shadows, ricoh gr, gr ricoh, gr, ricoh, pentax, pentax ricoh, pentax gr, ricoh gr digital, ricoh grd, gr digital, wouter brandsma, landscape, landscape photography, stroll photography
The GR performed solid and very reliable. That the photography process felt intuitive and I completely forgot about the camera, made perfect sense in the end. A reassuring feeling and one that reminds me that the phase of adapting a different camera is over. How this process goes and how a couple of photographers are getting comfortable with the new Ricoh GR can be read here.

All photographs by Wouter Brandsma

