Light and shadows

Light and shadows by Wouter Brandsma
For me photography is all about the search for light and shadows. How to capture it, to evoke it, to show it. For instance, in the woods I find framing hard, because of the clustering of all the trees and the absense of a clear focal point. Shadows of trees or branches on the other hand can form beautiful subjects. I find the shadow details in digital photography very difficult and I make the shadows much darker to loose much of those captured details.
Light and shadows by Wouter Brandsma
I still think it is hard to find the holy grail for me. Darker or brighter. Avoiding blown highlights, but not much mid grey either.
Light and shadows by Wouter Brandsma
So this is no musing about what application or tool to do the job for me. And I am not discussing any processing method either, although tips and insights are of course always welcome.
Light and shadows by Wouter Brandsma
It is more about what direction to go. I consiously compose in traditional 2:3 format since I am so familiair with it. I tried 4:3 and 1:1, but 2:3 is still what I like and how I see. I carefully frame everything I want within that format, although mostly unconsiously. I use shadows as lines to structure the composition, but I still like to keep it simple. That is why I keep coming back to the same places.
Light and shadows by Wouter Brandsma
Last weekend I saw the work of photographer John Marrocco that reminded me of my own work. He too focusses on simple subjects, form and factor. Not the event itself is the pinnacle of our photography, but the subject becomes the event. Events are not always there and you can’t always be in time for events, but subjects are everywhere.
Light and shadows by Wouter Brandsma
All photographs by Wouter Brandsma

